Wait, What?

A most amusing account of my journey through adulthood

On Owning Your Experiences

I’ve spent most of the last year in hiding. Not literally, I still physically left my house, but emotionally. There were many things I chose not to discuss because I wanted to protect the reputation of other parties involved. I still think my motives were good. I don’t think there is anything wrong with wanting to protect people you care about.

I took it too far though. In trying to respect the needs of others, I neglected myself. I didn’t just hide someone else’s actions, I hid my own feelings about those actions. I failed to own my emotions, and trying to ignore them ate away at me.

At the end of the day, no one should tell me how to feel or respond to my experiences. They are MY experiences, and I will choose to share what I want about them. It’s about my own health and well-being, and no one else’s personal opinions should have a say in that.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 9, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
